The Magnetic South Pole


Right to left: Alistair Mackay, Edgeworth David (pulling string for shutter), Douglas Mawson.
The Magnetic South Pole, 72º 25′ South, longitude 155º 16′ East, reached on 17 January 1909.

About Ernest Shackleton

Polar Explorer. Leader of the Imperial Trans-Antarctic Expedition, 1914-1917.
This entry was posted in Images, Other Voices. Bookmark the permalink.